Reviews

Warm welcome. - Rating 5/5

An absolutely first class B&B. Not one thing to criticise. A warm welcome, a superb comfortable room, luxurious en-suite, and a good breakfast. Would that all accommodation was as unselfconsciously professional as Windbrake House.

Reviewer:Charles H | Thu 14th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Very welcoming stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Windbrake House on 9th June.On arrival, and after being shown to our room, we were offered tea &cake in the garden!Scrumptious cake.Pillows and quilt and bed were heavenly.Décor was lovely.A very quiet spot with no passing traffic, wonderful.Breakfast could either be taken in the garden or dining room and again, top notch.A very enjoyable overnight stay.

Reviewer:Dawn P | Wed 13th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


A flying visit- Rating 5/5

A warm reception from the hosts despite my very late arrival. Beautiful house, in a super location, just a short walk from the beach, and the pretty little village centre of Alverstoke

Reviewer:Sharron C | Sun 10th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Windbrake House - Rating 5/5

Windbrake House was a lucky find for us - on line. We were attending a wedding in Gosport at St Mary's Church and then at the Royal Naval Institute. The church was an easy walk from Windbrake House where we had a splendid room looking towards the Solent. We were looked after very well and our unusual dietary requirements were expertly catered for. A very pleasant and interesting experience - 525 miles from our home in Dundee. Windbrake House is beautiful.

Reviewer:DR Melville K M | Tue 5th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Comfort - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable room , helpful owner and convenient location

Reviewer:Alison H | Mon 21st May 2018 | 5 months ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Verywelcominghosts, fabulous room, really cosy accommodation. Good breakfast! Would stay again and recommend to others.

Reviewer:Diane M | Wed 21st Mar 2018 | 7 months ago


Exceptional- Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful suprise at the Windbreak guest house.We were made very welcome from the moment of arrival and departure. The Room,service,facilities,food,decor,accessibility,parking,location all were excellent. Very highly recommended.We intend to return soon.

Reviewer:Lesley W | Wed 7th Mar 2018 | 7 months ago


Best B & B - Rating 5/5

Excellent service &attention to detail.The en-suite room&breakfast were up to quality Hotel standards.

Reviewer:Robert P | Mon 26th Feb 2018 | 7 months ago


Thank you - Rating 5/5

Perfect for what I needed. Lovely host, comfortable room, quiet location. Breakfast superb. Will certainly go back when necessary.

Reviewer:Allen H | Thu 22nd Feb 2018 | 8 months ago


Excellent and personal service - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation and friendly service. Fabulous breakfast cooked to order.

Reviewer:Jonathan L | Thu 14th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Wonderful b&b - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay here, breakfast was delicious and Sally was lovely. When we arrived we were served tea and cupcakes, as we mentioned, we are on honeymoon, we additionnal got prosecco. The room was wonderful and we had a beautiful sight to the sea. On the day we left, Sally gave us a lift to the ferry.We had the best honeymoon we could imagine and want to thank very very much.Love,Britta and Seppi

Reviewer:Sebastian D | Tue 12th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay at Windbrake House - Rating 5/5

We stayed just one night due to visting family locally. We received a warm welcome from Sally, which included tea and cake in the garden. The Juno room was delightful and comfortable with a smashing view of the sea and the Isle of Wight. A delicious full English breakfast in the morning and plenty of toast on offer. I have recommended Windbrake House to my local family in case they're tight on space again. Thank you for having us!

Reviewer:Helen P | Fri 1st Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Warm welcome - Rating 5/5

Having sampled various hotels in the Gosport area, we were extremely impressed with Windbrake House and look forward to staying there again.

Reviewer:Wilma G | Tue 15th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


superb- Rating 5/5

would we stay here again ? YES

Reviewer:keith w | Sat 12th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent! Highly recommend- Rating 5/5

I had a very pleasant stay, the room was perfect! Very clean, accommodating, super comfortable large double bed. Bathroom was amaxing - huge bathtub which I couldn't resist having a soak in. All the essentials you could possibly need were provided. Gorgeous house with lovely hosts, very personable and welcoming! Would stay again and highly recommend! Thanks Windbrake House.

Reviewer:Caitlin W | Thu 10th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Highly Recommended - Rating 5/5

Very warm welcome, beautiful room, wonderful bathroom and delicious breakfast, definately worth 5 stars - we will be making a return visit

Reviewer:Julia C | Mon 24th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Wonderful Stay - Rating 5/5

A wonderful stay for both my girlfriend and I for her birthday. When booking this I had accidentally booked myself without also booking my girlfriend in. I emailed Sally and without any complications she added my girlfriend as a guest. As it was my partners birthday I had requested if there could be rose petals spread on the bed in our room, upon arrival they were spread all over the bed, free of charge. Excellent customer service and I highly recommend friends and family to stay here in the future.

Reviewer:Rees W | Wed 19th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Even better in the flesh- Rating 5/5

Sally and Steve are great hosts a really enjoyable stay in a lovely locationplus a cracking breakfast that will keep you going all day we hope torevisit soon thank you

Reviewer:Mark S | Tue 18th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Lucky Find - Rating 5/5

We have recently spent a very enjoyable three days and nights here in the Highly recommended Mulberry room.lovely house with some WW2 connections.perfect location for visiting the submarine museum and Portsmouths historic shipyard.Super breakfast.perfect.

Reviewer:ken b | Sat 15th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


I hope to visit again ... - Rating 5/5

A stunning house in a lovely location and my room very clean and comfortable, with a sea view. Extremely welcoming and friendly proprietors and a delicious, plentiful breakfast - all that one needs!

Reviewer:Joy G | Tue 11th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Little gem - Rating 5/5

Been looking for a good B&B in Gosport for years, finally found a real gem, lovely house,great location and really nice lady, Sally looked after us wonderfully (tea and cake on arrival, scrummy !) big room, massive bed and enormous bathroom. We had a very happy three days and will be going again

Reviewer:Philip N | Sat 8th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Best B&B in England! - Rating 5/5

We absolutely loved staying at the Windbrake House!Sally and Steve are great and the breakfasts are to write home about!This was my second stay here and chosen for the past experience that I wanted to share with my wife!

Reviewer:Stephen K | Wed 5th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely! - Rating 5/5

Everything was lovely, room, food, atmosphere and host. Would recommend to anyone.

Reviewer:Mr. Mike T | Mon 19th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Only stayed one night and what a pleasant surprise it was. Everything went like clockwork. Was upgraded to a lovely room, Immaculately turned out, everything was there and more, Breakfast was superb

Reviewer:John Y | Tue 6th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Visit for wedding- Rating 5/5

Excellent, clean and comfortable accommodation. The hostess Sally was really helpful and the breakfast choice was lovely. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Sarah G | Tue 23rd May 2017 | 1 year ago


Superb! - Rating 5/5

If you get the chance to stay here, do, it is fantastic. There is much to learn about the history of the house which was trulyfascinating. The accommodation is of the highest standard from the general décor to the soft furnishings. To be greeted in such a friendly way and then provided with tea and a delicious slice of cake made us feel really special. The breakfast too was excellent. We can certainly recommend it!

Reviewer:Mr. Rosina A | Mon 22nd May 2017 | 1 year ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Lovely friendly home. Very comroyabke, superb room, bed and linen, superb cotton towels, great breakfast and most of all attentive service. If you like good service this is the place for a pleasant rest.

Reviewer:Lee G | Mon 22nd May 2017 | 1 year ago


Nice room - Rating 5/5

Nice room, very clean &hosts hospitable.

Reviewer:Mrs. Melissa S | Tue 16th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Saturday night stay - Rating 5/5

A wonderful stay, we couldn't have asked for better service and location.

Reviewer:Nicholas K | Mon 15th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

From arrival 'till departure an excellent service. Very friendly staff. Nice, spot clean and confortable room and bathroom and a tasty breakfast served in the morning.I will come back here for sure.Thanks for the pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Jan B | Fri 28th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Thank You - Rating 5/5

My stay at your Guest House, although it was only one night,was very enjoyable.The bed was SO comfortable it was difficult to get out of!! Breakfast was cooked just the way I like it. The house was quiet and peaceful.I would definitely come again and recommend friends and family! Thank You once again for your hospitality.

Reviewer:Peter B | Fri 28th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


April 2017 - Rating 5/5

A truly lovely place to stay. Made so welcome, it was like coming home. Location is perfect, the setting is idyllic, awesome breakfast, what more could you want. A little slice of luxury, that's the place and the cake. Would definitely recommend, and will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew C | Mon 24th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Brilliant! - Rating 5/5

A first class experience with a real luxurious feeling. From cupcakes and tea on arrival, a beautiful and comfortable bed,amazing bathroom to the range of drinks and refreshments in the room and gorgeous toiletries. An atmospheric bathroom with blue lighting and large bath. An excellent breakfast and nothing seemed too much trouble. We will be back!

Reviewer:Jacque C | Sun 2nd Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

Our daughter was getting married so we looked for somewhere close by to the reception to stay for 2 days. The house is really lovely, the bedroom was beautiful, and the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in.Breakfast was all we could wish for in fact it was a lovely stay and we will definitely go back.

Reviewer:Mrs. LindaS | Wed 11th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Beautiful and comfortable - Rating 5/5

The furniture and décor was lovely to look at and everything felt very luxurious and comfortable.We were also treated very well - all in all the best of everything.

Reviewer:Mr. Nigel J | Wed 30th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Lovely overnight stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed overnight for a wedding at the hotel next door. What a fabulous choice - Steve showed us the short cut through the side gate and offered a torch for the walk home. Our bed was so comfortable and the room was so lovely I wish we were staying longer!Breakfast was amazing, everything was thought about and supplied - Sally and Steve are great hosts. We will definitely be staying again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Chia B | Wed 19th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Had an amazing weekend break, made even better by the warm welcome we received at the windbreaker. Beautiful rooms, comfy beds, tasty plentiful breakfast, all in an ideal location.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kim F | Fri 14th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Very comfortable and enjoyable 2 night stay - Rating 5/5

We very much enjoyed our stay at Windbrake House which was an excellent base for visiting Porstmouth and the Historic Dockyard. Sally is a lovely host and her tips about eating out and using the Gosport ferry to travel to the museum made our stay so much easier and enjoyable. The room (Gold), breakfasts and on site car parking were all first rate, thank you Sally.

Reviewer:Mrs. SusanB | Thu 6th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Gold and Juno rooms at Windbrake House - Rating 5/5

We had an excellent stay - lots of welcoming touches and personalised service. Very good with older peopleWill return if in the area

Reviewer:Miss. Jo B | Tue 4th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


First class - Rating 5/5

A fabulous place to stay.We were really well looked after.Great room and a superb breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Roger M | Sat 17th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Just perfect - Rating 5/5

A luxurious B&B with a very warm welcome. Tea and cake offered on arrival. The house and bedroom were immaculate. The bedroom and bathroom had everything you might need and more. Beautiful lighting and a double bath and walk-in 'rain' shower. Soft white towels, bits and pieces in the bathroom in case we had forgotten something.Tea Pig teas and biscuits on the tray. The bed was clean and comfortable and very big! We were asked exactly what we would like for breakfast and it seemed nothing was too much trouble, gluten-free was not an issue either.Thank you for taking pride in your house and being so welcoming.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sara S | Mon 12th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Couldn't fault welcome, room, facilities or breakfast.Would thoroughly recommend and would stay again if in area.

Reviewer:Mr. David W | Mon 29th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Winbrake house - Rating 5/5

We would recommend windbrake house, one of the best b&b we have stayed in. Lovely room, breakfast and host.

Reviewer:Mr. Martin C | Mon 22nd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely warm welcome, stunning room, reasonable price, what more could you ask for. Oh, great hosts and we had those as well Thanks for a great stay. We'll be back

Reviewer:Mr. Russell S | Sun 10th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Week end - Rating 5/5

Great welcome everything you could think of provided, just wish we cloud have had longer thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs. Antonio F | Mon 4th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Home away from Home- Rating 5/5

I stayed a full 7 nights at Windbreak House this past June and it was amazing.I was welcomed from the very beginning by tea and cake baked by Sally, and felt truly comfortable, safe and welcomed into their guest house.Sally went over and above her position as the guest house owner, by assisting and helping me get care for my elderly parents (as someone living overseas it is difficult to know this process).I would not hesitate to stay at this beautiful home again.

Reviewer:Ms. Penelope T | Fri 1st Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Best b&b ever - Rating 5/5

This was the second time we stayed at Windbrake and thankfully we could stay a little longer as this really is a fabulous b&b. Sally is wonderful and we really couldn't fault anything. We were at a sailing competition and really looked forward to our afternoon tea and cake after a hard few hours on the water! Can't wait to come back next year.

Reviewer:Mrs. Melanie J | Wed 1st Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

Could not have been better

Reviewer:Mr. David P | Mon 23rd May 2016 | 2 years ago


5 star B & B accommodation!! - Rating 5/5

A stay at Windbrake house can only be described as a 'sheer delight'.We have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone searching for a beautiful and welcoming place to stay in this area.

Reviewer:Mr. Robin G | Thu 19th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Close to Stokes Bay - Rating 5/5

A lovely house set in a pleasant garden although it is a little out of the way but easy to get to if you have a car. The owner is welcoming and went out of her way to meet my breakfast requirements. The room was large with an extremely comfortable bed and a great bathroom with an enormous bath and an excellent, roomy drench shower.The breakfast was excellent and let my needs perfectly. We have no hesitation in recommending Windbreak House and will certainly return if we visit Gosport again.

Reviewer:Mr. William R | Sun 1st May 2016 | 2 years ago


Windbrake House Alverstoke - Rating 5/5

My wife and I have stayed at Windbrake 4 times over the past couple of years and have another 2 bookings so far for this year. We have always found this family run business to be welcoming, efficient and spotlessly clean. The breakfast selection is also second to none. We would not hesitate to recommend this establishment to anyone. Philip Charman (10th April 2016)

Reviewer:Mr. Philip C | Sun 10th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Amazing - Rating 5/5

Beautiful location,amazing room and the owner is very kind.we stay there only one night but we relaxing as if we was there 1 week!!!I want back!!!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Serena S | Wed 10th Feb 2016 | 2 years ago


Windbreak House - Rating 5/5

Friendly, helpful hostess, great rooms, very comfortable beds. breakfast with great choices. All round great stay , would stay again .

Reviewer:Mrs. Sharon C | Mon 7th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

Beautiful room, wonderful hospitality and a great breakfast. What more could you ask for. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Thank you very much.

Reviewer:Mr. Allan H | Mon 30th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Simply Excellent! - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed my stay at Winbrake House. Very welcoming and lovely room - just what I needed! thanks! (Plus - the cup of tea on arrival with a piece of cake was a really nice touch!)

Reviewer:Mr. Nigel C | Thu 12th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights.We wanted to be close to Naval Base for our sons passout parade.Our room was beautiful and Sally goes out of her way to make you welcome. We were really impressed with all of the well thought out little extras available in the room.The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom amazing. Sally's full english breakfast is to die for. I would highly recommend and we will certainly be making a return.

Reviewer:Mrs. Melanie B | Sun 1st Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Best B&B ever! - Rating 5/5

My stay at Windbreak House was exceptional.My room was comfortable and beautiful.The breakfast was delicious.Steve and Sally are friendly and helpful, and go out of their way to make their guests feel at home and well taken care of.I highly recommend Windbreak House.

Reviewer:Ms. Trudy R | Fri 30th Oct 2015 | 2 years ago


Excellent Weekend- Rating 5/5

Lived up to the 5 star reviews I read, comfortable rooms, great breakfast and the welcome was wonderful, tea and cake on arrival!Would certainly come again

Reviewer:Mrs. Judith R | Tue 1st Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


Wind rake House - Rating 5/5

Really friendly and lovely rooms

Reviewer:Mr. Lee R | Sun 9th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Windbrake House - Rating 5/5

Most enjoyable stay. Facilities and service could not be faulted

Reviewer:Dr. Roger B | Tue 4th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Goodwood weekend B&B - Rating 5/5

Fabulous Mullbury room with a sea view and a bed fit for a princess.Friendly welcome by the owners friend Caroline.Good breakfast.A B&B thats a bit special.

Reviewer:Mr. henry t | Sun 12th Jul 2015 | 3 years ago


Superb definetely worth using! - Rating 5/5

The Gold room was everything we could have hoped for and more. As a previous review has mentioned it was like home, all the items available that you would find in a good hotel but also other thoughtful items (tampons, no. 7 moisturiser) adn even fresh milk put out daily with nice biscuits. Although the owners had taken a break, we were met and looked after by a family friend who ensured that we had everything we required, even providing us with a torch as we were attending a wedding reception and would therefore be returning in the dark. The location is closed to the beach and other tourist attractions but at the end of a cul-de-sac ensuring a peaceful and relaxing break. Can't go without mentioning the beds, my husband has a bad back but after 2 nights here he was painfree. The breakfast was excellent, cooked food piping hot and lots to choose from. Can't wait to return again.

Reviewer:Mrs. JulieS | Tue 30th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Recommended. - Rating 4/5

We stayed for 1 night in Juno en route from the Isle of Wight. Sally is a marvellous hostess and made us feel very welcome, offering tea and homemade cake on arrival. Nothing was too much trouble. Like other guests, she booked a table for dinner at a nearby sea-front restaurant (recommend). The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. Breakfast was definitely 5star. Absolutely delicious!I would love to have given a 5star rating to this excellent B and B but we were a bit short of space in our room and bathroom. Juno is perfect for 1 person but a bit small for 2 people for any longer than 1 night.Otherwise, thank you Sally for a lovely stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Viv B | Wed 24th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


One of the Best B& B\'s - Rating 5/5

Extremely comfortable accommodation and delicious breakfast.Ideal location for anyone wishing to explore Gosport and Portsmouth Dockyards.The welcome we received together with our afternoon tea and cake was delightful

Reviewer:Mr. Roger Y | Wed 24th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


As good as ever - Rating 5/5

it is always a joy to stay at Windbrake House. The rooms are clean and exceptionally well equipped, Sally is a warm, generous host and the breakfast is superlative. This is one of the most pleasant places in the country in which to stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard D | Sun 21st Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

Thank you Sally and Steve for ruuning such a wonderful place. It was faultless. Will for sure book again when in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Praful P | Wed 10th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Marvellous Stay - Rating 5/5

What a delightful place! Comfortable bed , great food and a warm welcome. What more could you ask for?

Reviewer:Mr. David P | Mon 1st Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Perfect Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

A last minute booking and what a fabulous find. A beautiful room, superb breakfast and kind, considerate hosts.Definitely recommend if you are visiting this area. A perfect place to stay, second to none.

Reviewer:Mrs. Dottie M | Thu 28th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Faultless - Rating 5/5

Just returned from a one night stay and cannot fault this excellent guesthouse! The accommodation and decor of the whole property was stylist and immaculate. The hosts welcomed us with fresh coffee and a homemade Victoria sponge cake. The hospitality continued over a delicious breakfast. We will definitely be returning very soon.

Reviewer:Mr. gavin m | Wed 27th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Charming B and B - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay. Highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. Denise C | Sat 23rd May 2015 | 3 years ago


A Gem - Rating 5/5

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at this 'home away from home'. Nothing was too much trouble. Only sorry we were only staying for one night.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan R | Wed 20th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Amazing and worth 6* - Rating 5/5

My husband and I stayed here while visiting our son at the nearby Naval base.We only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed longer.The hospitality was amazing, the cleanliness was top notch, not a thing out of place. There were so many little extra's from toothpaste, sweets, shampoos, soaps, a lovely piece of cake waiting our arrival and an amazing hostess in Sally.Nothing was too much for her.The rooms are amazing.We stayed in the Mulberry Room which is very spacious, with a very big bed which is very comfortable.The views from our room over the garden were lovely and we were able to watch the squirrels playing in the garden the following morning.There is nothing negative to say about Windbrake House.We would highly recommend it and would definitely stay again.Thank you Sally for a wonderful and comfortable stay. Deserves beyond the 5* rating.

Reviewer:Mrs. AngelaC | Sun 26th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Delightful - Rating 5/5

The perfect blend of informal, friendly and professional, Windbrake House is a beautiful guesthouse with tastefully decorated - and extremely comfortable- rooms complete with personal touches, including a heavenly en suite with luxury bath. Helpful and accommodating, we felt very well looked after and the full English breakfast was fantastic. Loved our stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kate W | Mon 30th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


One night stay for a friends party - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay once again. I think everything is well thought through and the room has everything you could possible need for your stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Joanna B | Mon 8th Dec 2014 | 3 years ago


Windbrake House - Rating 5/5

Beautiful Room,best bed ever,luxury bathroom &1st class breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Tony H | Sun 16th Nov 2014 | 3 years ago


Windbrake House - Rating 5/5

Unfortunately we could only stay one night!!! Fantastic welcome with delicious cake. Beautiful room and a wonderful breakfast. Most delightful hosts so we wasted no time in booking again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Trudi F | Mon 10th Nov 2014 | 3 years ago


Windbrake stay 29.9.14 - Rating 5/5

Generally excellent for a B &B.Warm friendly welcome.Quiet locationVery comfortable bedroom with en-suite with a powerful shower and free standing roll top bath.Good full English cooked breakfastI would be than happy to stay againThank you

Reviewer:Mr. Richard R | Wed 1st Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Awesome visit - Rating 5/5

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Windbrake House. Sally was delightful and so helpful...she even drove us to our next stop in Gosport after breakfast (which was amazing!). Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer than one night.

Reviewer:Mr. John R | Thu 18th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


What a gem! - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would almost like to keep as our "secret guesthouse retreat".We received a wonderful welcome and "chocolate cake"on arrival.The room, decor, hospitality and breakfast were superb and we would certainly recommend Windbrake House without any hesitation!

Reviewer:Mrs. Sonia P | Wed 6th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Super nice hotel with special idylic rooms - Rating 5/5

The hotel is small and near to the beach. Sally the owner is a very friendly one and she read all the wishes from our faces. The room was extraordinary, like a princess room and everything was very clean, modern and comfortable. The breakfast was awesome and we will allways return to them, if we will come back to Great Britain.Thank you for all!!!

Reviewer:Mr. Dominic D | Tue 5th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Great value - Rating 5/5

Friendly and welcoming.Excellent cleanliness and excellent breakfast.Close to the beach front. nice gardening in a relaxing atmosphere.Full recommendationgiven.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian O | Sat 26th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Closure - Rating 5/5

I stayed at Windbrake house when I did my initial training and preparation for the Clipper round the world yacht race so it was only natural for me to also stay when the race was over. Windbrake house is outstanding with lovely rooms, a quiet and tranquil ambience and good food. The owner, Sally, is a generous and attentive host and the surrounding area has much to commend it.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard D | Fri 25th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


First stay - Rating 5/5

Perfect in every way

Reviewer:Mr. Ronald A | Fri 18th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


5 star - Rating 5/5

Welcoming. Very comfortable room. Breakfast excellent catering for differing tastes. All-in-all very good indeed. Recommended.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lavinia G | Tue 15th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Simply the best! - Rating 5/5

Our one night stay was excellent and we wished we'd booked for longer. Our welcome was lovely, as a very hot day we declined hot drinks so we're offered elderflower with sparkling water, that along with the Victoria sponge was delicious. We were given the Mulberry room which is spacious and beautifully furnished and has sea view. The location is residential and only a short walk to the seafront. Breakfast was delicious and freshly prepared. Sally was the perfect hostess and extremely knowledgeable of the area and attractions. By far the best B&B we have very stayed in.

Reviewer:Mrs. Teresa P | Thu 26th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


A Great Stay - Rating 5/5

I arrived late, but was able to make arrangements easily to be let in. A very restful night in a supremely comfortable room, complemented by an excellent breakfast with friendly service. Couldn't recommend it more highly.

Reviewer:Mr. David P | Mon 9th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Unbeatable - Rating 5/5

Windbrake is possibly the best place to stay in Gosport/Fareham area.We stayed only two nights, but from the very pleasant and attentive welcome(with home made cakes), until our departure, the service was second to none.The room (Gold)was a good size, immaculately clean and well appointed. The en-suite was huge with a double bath and large walk-in shower.Breakfast was just perfect, with a large and varied choice of high quality local products.The owners were very pleasant and always on hand to make sure our stay was as good as it could be.We shall most definitely return to Windbrake House.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark H | Sat 7th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

We needed somewhere to stay near our son (in the Navy)and after looking at reviews we choose here - it was an excellent choice. On arrival we were met with tea and muffins and made to feel very welcome. The room had a sea view and a very comfortable bed, as well as all the little extras that make a stay so exceptional. We would definiately stay hereagain.

Reviewer:Mrs. Norma F | Sun 18th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Feedback from Thomas - Rating 5/5

Hi Sally,it was only a one day stay (16/17th April) for me but it was great. You have a really nice house with a family athmosphere.As I already told you during my visit I booked your hotel because you offered a online booking. Im am travelling a lot and therefore it is mandatory for me to book flights, hotels etc. together and therefore a fast confirmation as given with an online booking is important.Many thanks again and 5 stars from me (my browser does not show how many starts I clicked on)Best regardsThomas

Reviewer:Mr. Thomas B | Wed 7th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Very pleasant stopover - Rating 5/5

Highly recommended - my room was superb with an extremely comfortable bed and large en-suite bathroom with a separate shower - all superbly fitted out.There was a 2 person table and chairs in the bay window overlooking garden - a nice place to sit and enjoy the coffee and home made cake I was welcomed with.I opted for the full english breakfast which was cooked to perfection.Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. John E | Tue 6th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Best B& B in Gosport - Rating 5/5

Great facilities, very tasty breakfast and a friendly welcome made our stay at Windbrake house one of our most memorable. It is ideally placed for people visiting Portmouth as it is a short distance from the Gosport ferry which drops you just outside the old dockyard, perfect for visiting the 'Victory' and the 'Mary Rose'. Hope to go back again to see all we missed.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher K | Sun 23rd Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Review - Rating 5/5

This is the second time we have used Windbrake House and love it.A little more expensive than your average B&B but this is no ordinary B&B.Fantastic bedrooms, great breakfasts and a lovely welcoming hostPS recommend you try the home made cakes you get after arrival...beautiful

Reviewer:Mr. Spencer H | Mon 17th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay at the Windbrake House. The owners were very friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms were beautiful, comfortable and very clean. The full cooked breakfast was delicious. All great B&B and would recommend it to anyone.

Reviewer:Mr. Thomas L | Wed 5th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Faultless ! - Rating 5/5

This is the first time we have stayed at Winbrake House, but as we visit the area fairly often it most definitely will not be the last.From the moment the door was opened and we were greeted by Sally with the offer of fresh coffee and cake to the time we left it really was impossible to find any fault.I really would recommend this property to anyone staying in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Gerry C | Mon 3rd Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

My first stay and I can't recommend Windbrake House highly enough, a warm welcome, lovely décor, great facilities, absolutely spotless. Sally you deserve to be full all the time !Thank You

Reviewer:Mrs. JoT | Thu 30th Jan 2014 | 4 years ago


Shelley and Gary Quaile - Saturday 16 & Sunday 17 November 2013 - Rating 5/5

We were so impressed with everything at Windbrake House, from the initial welcome at the door, to the tea and home-made carrot cake on arrival and obviously the room itself (Mulberry) which is gorgeous! I picked Windbrake House for its proximity to the start of the Gosport Half-Marathon, so it was perfect. We also wanted to thank Sally for letting us leave our stuff in the room after the official check-out time as this made it so much easier for me to concentrate on the race and then to come back to shower and change, etc. I personally couldn't speak highly enough about our stay here.Thanks again Sally, and hope to see you again for the next race!Kind regards,Shelley (and Gary)

Reviewer:Miss. Shelley M | Mon 18th Nov 2013 | 4 years ago


Delightful B&B - Rating 5/5

This B&B delivers on the two most important things:comfort and service. We went as a group of 4 adults and the 2 rooms we had were beautifully decorated with everything we could possibly need. On arrival we were met with tea and homemade cake and given lots of useful information to help us plan our stay. The owners went that extra mile and couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast was cooked to order. The whole place is bright and airy - modern but still comfortable and relaxing. Ferry from Gosport to Portsmouth is 10 mins drive away. We would definitely recommend this place.

Reviewer:Mr. David R | Tue 29th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


Amazing stay - Rating 5/5

From the minute we arrived until the moment we left we were pampered and thoroughly looked after.Everything about our stay was perfect. From being offered tea and delicious homemade cake as soon as we arrived to a lovely breakfast the following morning.The room (Mulberry) was spotless and finished to an exceptionally high standard – I didn't want to leave.And the owners, Sally and Steve made the stay even better, with their friendly and helpful attitude they really made us feel welcome the entire time. Nothing was too much trouble and they were only too happy to recommend places to eat and go out, and even offered to book tables for us.It was a splendid weekend and I can't wait to go back.

Reviewer:Mr. David R | Mon 28th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


Perfect break - Rating 5/5

Thank you Sally and Steve for making us feel so welcome and the extra attention you give to everything to make everyone's stay that much more personal. We shall be back

Reviewer:Mrs. Diana H | Mon 21st Oct 2013 | 5 years ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 2 nights at Windbrake House recently as we were visiting relatives nearby. Although we didn't spend much time at the property, it offered everything we needed and we would definitely recommend it. Sally was welcoming and helpful;the room was very well appointed;and breakfast was superb. The little extras make all the difference - cake, fresh milk in the room, luxury toiletries etcand set this property apart from the run of the mill hotels. Next time we are visiting the area we will definitely look forward to returning to Windbrake House.

Reviewer:Miss. Julie N | Sat 31st Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

Excellent B&B, with notable attention to detail and superb breakfasts. Very comfortable and very friendly landlady.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sheila W | Thu 29th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Great Place! - Rating 5/5

I was made to feel like part of the family and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.I only stayed one night,but wished I had the time to stay longer!Breakfast was awesome!

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen K | Tue 23rd Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


First Class - Rating 5/5

I stayed for 2 nights over a weekend. Windbrake House is ideally located for the seafront, Gosport and the Portsmouth attractions.The room was first class, very well presented with all the comforts of home. Sally, the proprietor was very welcoming and the service was excellent throughout my stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Arthur E | Mon 24th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Amazing find -- we need more excuses to visit Gosport now! - Rating 5/5

We came for a friend's wedding and were absolutely blown away by this beautiful place and the wonderful couple who own &run it. The room was luxurious and the welcome of tea &cake was so lovely and our hostess was very accommodating when we were very badly delayed due to a train failure, making arrangements for us to pick up keys hours later than planned. My wife is allergic to wheat and so we've become accustomed to not being able to partake fully of hotel / B&B breakfasts -- but Sally went above &beyond and got gluten-free ingredients in!Would stay again in a heartbeat and definitely recommend -- just a pity we don't have a reason to visit Gosport regularly, really!

Reviewer:Mrs. Meri W | Mon 25th Mar 2013 | 5 years ago


Windbreak House - Rating 5/5

A most pleasant stay, we were greeted by sally who made us most welcome. The rooms were superb. Sally was extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble.We would not hesitate to reccommend this hotel and we would certainly stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert I | Sun 24th Mar 2013 | 5 years ago


Would recommend - Rating 5/5

Beautiful house, very welcoming host. Excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul K | Sun 21st Oct 2012 | 6 years ago


Perfection - Rating 5/5

Windbrake is a lovely house with a charming hostess. Our room was beautiful with lots of nice little touches. The breakfast was delicious.I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Reviewer:Mrs. Brenda H | Tue 25th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Great choice - Rating 5/5

We chose Windbrake House for our three night break in Gosport after reading great reviews on Tripadvisor. They were all absolutely true. We stayed in Mulberry and we could not have made a better choice. Sally is a great host providing sumptious cake and fresh milk for tea in our room, she even swapped the duvet on our bed as we were a bit warm under the original. Better sevice you could not get! Breakfasts were perfect, we could not find a better place to stay. Thanks Sally and Steve.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith T | Thu 20th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Lovely Lovely hotel!!! - Rating 5/5

One of my team staff members stayed at the Windbrake this week and said her stay was fantastic!!! Very enjoyable, lovely polite staff and would love to stay again if in the area.

Reviewer:Miss. Sally G | Fri 7th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Long weekend 20/7/12 - Rating 5/5

Yet again another fantastic stay at Windbrake House.Sally and Steve are just great hosts.See you next time!!!

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin C | Sat 4th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


An Enjoyable Stay - Rating 5/5

We loved staying in the very comfortable Mulberry Room for one night and would have liked to stay longer. Everything was perfect and the breakfast delicious. Thank you, Sally, and we would love to stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kathryn E | Mon 11th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

Regrettably we were only staying here for one night while down for a friend's wedding. This B&B is possibly the best we have ever stayed in. The room was stunning and luxurious. We were greeted with coffee and cake and the breakfast in the morning was superb. The only down side was that we were only there for one night!

Reviewer:Dr. Alison G | Tue 8th May 2012 | 6 years ago


Our Favourite Place on the South Coast - Rating 5/5

Our second visit (third planned for August!)was as lovely as the first. We were treated with the same attentiveness we received as new guests. Breakfast was fantastic and the homemade blueberry scones on arrival were a welcome nibble when we checked in.

Reviewer:Mr. David H | Tue 10th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


A real treat - Rating 5/5

A very warm welcome with tea and cake. Very comfortable indeed. The bedroom and bathroom had everything we could possibly think of to make us feel athome. Someone has very tastefully decorated the rooms we saw in keeping with the art deco period of the house. Very tasty breakfast too, and nice to have hot breakfast options avaialble as well as the 'full english'. Will certainly recommed you to others.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jane S | Thu 15th Mar 2012 | 6 years ago


Five Star Stay - Rating 5/5

We had the pleasure to stay at Windbreak House for one night while we were in the area to attend a party.Sally &Steve were the perfect hosts - tea &cake (homemade) on our arrival, they took us to the party venue so we didn't have to arrange a taxi.Our room was beautifully presented and extremely comfortable.Breakfast the following morning was absolutely delicious (sadly one of us had indulged a little too much the night before and wasn't able to manage the full english!)We can recommend Windbreak House 100%.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lynn S | Thu 2nd Feb 2012 | 6 years ago


Thank you - Rating 5/5

We had an excellent stay at Windbrake. Sally and Jack were incredibly friendly, very accommodating and thoughtful. The Mulberry room is lovely.

Reviewer:Miss. Emma F | Sun 15th Jan 2012 | 6 years ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

We had the most marvellous stay at Windbrake House, the room was the best we have ever had, with facilities far and beyond that which one would expect. The welcome we received warm and happy.Sally was so helpful with our desire for a lighter quilt, cooler heating and even allowed us to stay on a little longer in the morning. The breakfast exceptionable and delicious. We will recommend to friends and family as well as return ourselves as soon as possible.many thanks for a super duper stay!!!

Reviewer:Mr. AndrewP | Wed 11th Jan 2012 | 6 years ago


Too Short! - Rating 5/5

....The stay that is.What a lovely house. Sally made us very welcome with a nice cup of tea on arrival and the homemade mince pies were the best we've had. The house is in excellent order and the room was wonderful. A view of the water helped and the place has an interesting history.We only stayed for one night as we were there for a family occasion, but we've already booked for next year.After a lovely freshly made breakfast we left for home and are looking forward to going back. If you want to treat yourselves and you're in the area - do yourselves a favour and book in!George and Lesley.

Reviewer:Mr. George C | Mon 12th Dec 2011 | 6 years ago


Will book again - Rating 4/5

We found Windbrake House a pleasure to stay at. The room and breakfast were excellant as was the welcome of the owners. Will certainly book again.

Reviewer:Carol A | Sun 18th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


Do not go anywhere else!! - Rating 5/5

Windbrake House nestled in Alverstoke could not have been a better discovery for us. Our son was attending his Admiralty Interview Board just up the road at HMS Sultan which meant that the location was just perfect.Windbrake House is a truly fantastic Boutique Bed and Breakfast. Sally was the perfect host with Tea and Cake on arrival and the most fantastic breakfasts.If you need to stay in Gosport we urge you to give Sally a call and make Windbrake House your choice, you really wil not be disappointed.Mark and Madeline Greatbatch. Hertfordshire.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark G | Fri 22nd Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Many thanks for a friendly welcome, good breakfast and great room.Chris

Reviewer:Mr. Chris J | Mon 18th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

From the moment I arrived I felt very welcome and at ease. It was obvious straight away that Sally loves what she does. The House is light and airy, the bedrooms very stylish and comfortable and both en suite a pampering haven. Breakfast was great choices and delicious. Very well positioned for the beach and village. Stay here it's lovely.

Reviewer:Mrs. Martina C | Tue 28th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Extra Information

  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Bridal Suite
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Country Retreat

General Policy

Changes and cancellations to bookings made up to 7 days before the arrival date/time are without charge. Thereafter the deposit may be charged. The total value of the booking may be charged if changes/cancellations are made with less than 12 hours notice. Upon booking one nights deposit will be taken to hold the room.